2 2 2 2 2 2 TRAIN or in plain English…

Monochrome Maniac

Steam Engine

Steam Engine

 

“I would like to  have – two II class tickets for the 13.58 train.”

I tought that was so funny whwn I was a small girl, well I still think it is  amusing.

Say it,  2 2 2 2 2 2 train and this train is a 2 2 train called Hamra.

 

It’s a steam engine that I saw on my trip to Mariefred.

 

“This is the heart of Östra Södermanlands Järnväg  (Ö.S1.J). The line was originally the SJ standard gauge line from Läggesta to Mariefred, which the Swedish State Railways (SJ) operated until the mid-1960’s when the line was closed. Ö.Sl.J., which began on a small scale at the Lina brick works in Södertälje in 1959, took after a few years over the track and station in Mariefred and rebuilt the track to 600 mm narrow gauge.” Text from wikipedia.

 

Mariefred – Läggesta Nedre

Stationerna längs banan heter Gripsholmsviken (tidigare Folkhögskolan) som passeras ca. 600 meter efter Mariefreds station. Efter 1 kilometer passerar man Hjorthagen med ett litet stickspår på sidan och litet stationshus. Därefter åker man mot Marielundsviken och passerar stationen Marielund där det förekommer tågmöten på lördagar, stationen har två spår samt ett litet stationshus. Efter Marielund kommer tåget in i skogen och om man tittar noga kan man på höger sida se hållplatsen Ekudden som passeras utan att stanna. Nu kommer tåget ut ur skogen och bredvid fanns tidigare ett 1435 mm spår fram som leder till Taxinge-Näsby. Nu har vi kommit till Läggesta Nedre efter nästan 4 km. Från Läggesta Nedre kan man ta SJs tåg eller helt enkelt åka samma tåg tillbaka. Wikipedia

 Have a great Monday.

Greetings from TYRA in Vaxholm

 

  1. Great photo! My family loves trains and different gauges always amuse us! Thanks for the info.

  2. Dette var koselig. jeg har en veldig sans fot gamle jernbaner og har en haug bilder fra diverse veteranbaner i England. Dette var en inspirasjon til å gjøre noe med dem.

  3. I love old steam engines! That would have made me laugh too.

  4. The Romance of Steam – one can really appreciate the meaning of that phrase.

  5. Wonderful!

  6. The train is a great subject for monochrome and I enjoyed the text too.

  7. I had a chance to ride on a steam train when I went to Canada. This one I think will be a good ride too…

  8. For et flott gammelt tog. Perfekt for svart-hvitt selvsagt!

  9. Lovely mystery about steam engines. This one looks a real cutey in monochrome!

  10. How delightful to see a steam engine! A wonderful contribution to the project…thanks for sharing it. I’ve never gotten to ride on a train, but I wish I had your memories of the “222”

  11. Great shot and great blog!🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

